A Little V.A. Mayhem

Today was a very, very, VERY long day. Not really an I’ve-been-working-all-day-on-lifting-boulders-the-size-of-Kentucky kind of day. More of an I’ve-been-sitting-in-office-chairs-all-freaking-day-long kind of day. My husband and I spent six hours at the Veteran’s Administration today. That was for three appointments.

My husband, who has been awake since 9 am yesterday morning, was running on 32 hours without sleep by the time we eventually escaped. It was productive, in a sitting and talking to people way. And we don’t have to do it again for a long time, which is good.

While we were outside, smoking a cigarette, we discovered the unofficial guard-mouse of the VA.

Let me back up a bit. You know those really obvious plastic rocks? The ones that are clearly hide-a-key rocks, complete with a seam that shows where the two parts were joined? We saw one of those and began to figure out why this building would have a hide a key. It was bigger than the average plastic rock, so I surmised that it must cover a pipe cap of some sort. My husband then, his curiosity piqued, went over and lifted the boulder easily with his foot to peer underneath it. When he flipped it over a mouse scampered out of a hole on the back of the thing. It wasn’t a hide-a-key at all! It was a hide-a-mouse! So, I named the mouse Rocky (original, I know…I am wicked clever.) and we dubbed him the guard mouse of the VA. I even took pictures on my phone. When I figure out how to transfer them from my phone to this site, I will do that.

If you are unimpressed with my sense of humor in this post, I am sorry. You try sitting in appointments all day long and see how quickly your brain cells are firing. Lol.

So here I sit, watching Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and finding it to be appropriate for my mental functional ability at this moment. I am drinking Pepsi and praying to the caffeine gods that I am able to catch a second…or fourth…whatever…wind tonight that I might get some work done.

With that thought, I am low on Pepsi. I am going to refill my cup.

Thank you for tuning again to witness my dysfunction. Lol.

Leave a comment